Dyslexia Awareness Level 1 (QCF)                                       Return to menu


What to expect from Dyslexia Awareness Level 1 qualification


This qualification is suitable for parents and carers of children or young people with dyslexia or someone with no prior knowledge and an interest in dyslexia. The qualification will cover the definition of the term dyslexia, identifying characteristics of dyslexia, possible social, emotional and behavioural effects, key difficulties with learning. Examples of coping strategies adopted by individuals and identifying common strategies or interventions use to support the learning of an individual with Dyslexia.


Learning outcomes


Know what is meant by ‘dyslexia’.
Know how dyslexia can affect an individual.
Know about ways to support the learning of individuals with dyslexia.






Learner entry requirements


The approved age range for this qualifications is 18 +

Prior Qualifications
There is no requirement for learners to have achieved prior qualifications.

Prior knowledge of understanding
There is no requirement for learners to have prior skills, knowledge or understanding.

Progression Opportunities
The Dyslexia Awareness qualifications provide progression through the suite from Level 1 to Level 3. The Level 3 qualifications may also prepare learners to move on to a Level 5 Diploma in Teaching Learners with Dyslexia/Specific Learning Difficulties or to a broader Level 3 qualification in Supporting Teaching and Learning in Schools or a Level 3 Certificate for Learning Support Practitioners.

Relationship with other frameworks
This qualification has no direct relationship to other frameworks, however it takes account of The Literacy and Dyslexia-SpLD Professional Development Framework and the National Occupational Standards for Learning Support Staff.


Other related courses





                                                                               Return to menu       


•••••The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) is the national credit transfer system for education qualification in England, Northern Ireland and Wales. The QCF replaces the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which closed for accreditations at the end of 2010.


……………………….Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 02.43.12                               Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.01.16                      gateway 2


A blog about Wordpress design, development , Software and inspiration